I recently came across this (good) question on puzzling.SE:

My Puzzling Girlfriend

Then I noticed it had a forum-style duplicate here:


I find this very serious(IP theft serious). Is this common or just gone unnoticed till now?

  • $\begingroup$ I just realized there isn't a single link anywhere on the page. No surprise, really. $\endgroup$
    – cst1992
    Apr 13 '16 at 14:08
  • 4
    $\begingroup$ Check out this question on the stack exchange meta meta.stackexchange.com/questions/200177/… . Though this is more along the lines of some random person reposting without giving due credit, i believe that is answered in the question as well. See blog.stackoverflow.com/2009/06/attribution-required $\endgroup$ Apr 13 '16 at 14:15
  • 2
    $\begingroup$ I've definitely seen this happen before - some time after a puzzle is posted here, it gets (seemingly robo-)posted on a site with something like "puzzle" in the URL $\endgroup$ Apr 13 '16 at 14:26
  • 5
    $\begingroup$ Yes, this is just a scrub site (no pun towards the puzzle), made by a scrub. (Don't believe me? Click on ANY of the links at the bottom of the page -- about, terms of service, advertising, contact us, help, etc) .It is designed to pull stuff from legitimate sites, so that it can show up in search engines and make them money from ads, without an ounce of work. $\endgroup$ Apr 13 '16 at 14:33
  • 2
    $\begingroup$ @Khale_Kitha The good news is, Google is smarter than those guys. It detected a duplicate, and blocked it. Only when I asked to see the latter did it surface. $\endgroup$
    – cst1992
    Apr 13 '16 at 15:49

You must log in to answer this question.

Browse other questions tagged .